【我的大学】(1)英文版

来源: sportwoman 2012-06-24 17:29:26 [] [博客] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (10924 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ sportwoman ] 在 2012-06-25 07:40:02 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.

After I graduated from high school with a diploma, September that same year I started to take some courses in a community college. I decided to take only one course which was accounting 101 for that semester.XYZ college is located in downtown Toronto, amid the  hustle and bustle of the city. The reason why I chose XYZ college was simple-- I joined the badminton training program there when I studied in that adult high school, and I'd already been kind of familiar with the bus route back and forth between my home and the campus, furthermore, the most important reason was it`s not far away from my place so I could walk and save some bus fares.  

The classes was held  two evenings a week and worth 3 credits.  The teacher was white and well built , glasses, short and curly  hair, and about 40 in age. The big difference between the college class and classes in high school was, the speed the teacher spoke was fast, so to me, it was hard to catch  what he said. I heard that students in college have to find a way to fit themselves in the language environment, because in the class teachers would never compromise to speak slow because of some ESL students.  In order to catch up I previewed before every class and reviewed what I had learned within 24 hours after the class. The concepts in the text book were not hard but the problem was my English. I read very slow because I would encounter many new words that I had to check them up in the dictionary. Namely, I had to study hard with twice the effort or even more than other students whose English is not their second language. Not surprisingly, at the end of the semester, my grade was not bad which was a B+ .