what I meant by "看错人了” was

来源: 非文学青年 2012-09-23 16:03:20 [] [博客] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 0 次 (2088 bytes)
回答: I am not offended, nor am I angry.hammerheadshark2012-09-23 15:09:35

that I thought we were like-minded in our views of writing and English learning in general. But through this string of posts, I have realized that is not the case. 

As to the saying about "native speaker", I was not trying to prove anything. I hold the opinion that a native speaker has the intuition, if not the grammatical rules, to judge whether a "the" should be there or not. Just like a Chinese native speaker would find it odd if he/she sees a sentence with the second 了 in “我明天吃了早饭了之后。。。”but it's totally fine in "我已经吃了早饭了。。。”. My background is in linguistics,generative grammar in particular, which has instilled into me a complete trust in native speakers' intuition. So in some way, if you think I am treading into the area of grammarians, that is not totally beside the point. But I hope you don't think I am a grammar Nazi. I sure don't want to become one. And I have no intention to reinforce my rule or any person's rule. It's your writing after all. And I said from the very beginning, "I am not sure though". After our correspondence, I've confirmed with a native speaker whether an "a" or "the" is needed in this context. He agrees with me. I am not saying you have to agree with him or me as native speakers judgement might vary too. I just brought it up for your attention, as this line is supposed to be the "punch line" of your story.