英语美文:This Is How We Practice Not Quitting (感谢父亲系列)

来源: 珈玥 2010-06-06 10:47:51 [] [博客] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (5661 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ 珈玥 ] 在 2010-10-19 16:24:25 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.

This Is How We Practice Not Quitting (ZT)

By Karyn Williams

Perseverance is the hard work you do after you get tired
of doing the hard work you already did.
~Newt Gingrich

I'll never forget the day my then fifty-something professional sports executive dad became a marathon runner. After he finished his first race, the Disney Marathon in January of 1995, I watched him walk through our front door limping, battered, and bruised. He looked like he had been in hand-to-hand combat and was dragging home from the war. I remember wondering what in the world was fun about that. But a few years later when I watched him cross the finish line at the 1997 Chicago Marathon, I caught the bug. Whatever it was that made him want to do this, the satisfaction I saw on his face told me I wanted it too. So I started training for my first marathon. To date, I've run in nine of these epic events, seven of them right alongside my dad.

The first time we did the Boston Marathon together, I had trained hard for months, and Dad and I were both pumped. The first half of the race flew by, and I was on fire. I had energy like a madwoman, but Dad was struggling... so I did my best to keep him going. Kind of like Frodo and Sam, you know? Though the plan had been to stay together, Dad kept saying, "Go! Get a better time if you can... go ahead!" I debated it, but decided to stay with him. After mile thirteen, we stopped for a bathroom break — and that's when I cramped up really bad. Dad came to life after that, so for the second half of the race, he had to "carry" me! Miles thirteen through twenty-six were brutal, and sometime during mile twenty-one, as we were making our trek up the aptly-named "Heartbreak Hill," in agony and almost in tears, I looked up at Dad and cried, "Why in the world are we doing this?"