Katie Couric The Best Advice I Ever Got, Part 18

来源: 2msmom 2013-08-16 06:59:31 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (3201 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ 2msmom ] 在 2013-08-16 07:07:29 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.

最近太忙,好久没来美坛.很想念大家. 接着发贴.欢迎金砖.

Part 2 The Bank of Experience (第二部分)

欢迎多多批评指正
There is simply no way around it. There is no substitute for hard work. Early in my career and to this day, I’ve put in as many hours as needed to get the job done. If it meant working after hours, on weekends, in the middle of the night and getting two hours of sleep, I would do it. People notice. They also notice when you’re doing the bare minimum. Nothing is less appealing in a work setting than a fresh-out-of-college graduate, who’s entitled and unmotivated. If you’re the low man or woman on the totem pole, learn from those up at or close to the top. Pick their brains, follow them around. They’ll probably be flattered. Even today, I’m still learning from my colleagues. When I see an interview or a story that I really like, I’ll watch it several times to understand what made it so good.
    No matter how many hours you put in, or how much sweat equity you amass, there will be times when you feel you aren’t getting the credit you deserve or promotion you’ve earned. You will inevitably face disappointments. One of the most empowering lessons of all is: Life isn’t fair. This is something I tried to teach my daughters. When they were demanding  toddlers, I often responded to their whines by telling them, “Girls, you know what Mick Jagger says: ‘You can’t always get what you want.’” If you realize that disappointment will always be part of the equation, regardless of how unfair it feels, your recovery time will be much faster.