Katie Couric The Best Advice I Ever Got, Part 14

来源: 2msmom 2013-05-09 07:24:03 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (2230 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ 2msmom ] 在 2013-05-10 10:17:11 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.

Part1. 欢迎多多批评指正

Courage is being scared to death but saddling up anyway - John Wayne

My dad encouraged me to go into journalism. He had worked as a reporter for the Macon Telegraph, The Atlanta Constitution, and United Press before going into public relations to earn a salary that could better support four kids. During the summers that I was a student at the University of Virginia, he encouraged me to work at radio stations in Washington, D.C. This was long before internship programs for college students were commonplace, so I got out of the yellow pages and started calling radio stations and asking if I could come in and apply for a summer job. I ended up working at three different radio stations by the time I had graduated, and decided that TV might be an even more exciting, not to mention lucrative, career choice. I loved to write and could do it quickly, thanks to years of procrastinating (I still remember my dad's bemusement as his fifth-grade daughter sat cross-legged just inside the front door, frantically finishing her homework before running for the bus), and I loved people. I was, yes, perky, damn it - a description of me that I came to abhor - and, perhaps more important, insatiably curious. And, let's face it, I had plenty of drive and ambition, the kind that started slowly simmering after college and came to a full, rolling boil when I found myself in a competitive work environment. But after graduating from college with a BA in American studies I realized that landing a job in TV news was going to be a challenge. I had sent out resumes and made calls, but getting my proverbial foot in the door just wasn't happening. So one morning I put on my best "dress for success" outfit - you know, the blue blazer, the blouse, the completely geeky little bow tied around my collar, w