However, I wanted to emphasize the importance of practice.

来源: 北京二号 2009-02-19 00:56:46 [] [博客] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (2242 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ 北京二号 ] 在 2009-02-19 05:00:15 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.
回答: Thanks for the comments -billnet2009-02-18 21:55:04
[I am writing the following paragraphs mainly for the purpose of practicing my English. The content may be too far from the topic. Please don't waste your time reading it if you only want to see discussions on 'back mouth' pronunciation.]

With pronunciation, if one hasn't practiced enough, s/he won't be able to truly understand and master those rules. And I guessed that is why although many people know this "back mouth" theory, even the best teachers are not able to give an instance solution to solve the learner's problem immediately.

Here are some personal experiences. I have been working with algorithms for many many years. When I play with the algorithms in my field, mostly I can play artfully (after so many years of studying and practice).

With English pronunciation, after 1 year's practice, right now I honestly think I know what this "back mouth" pronunciation is and how it works. But I am far from speaking English beautifully/artfully although I always thought I had a little talent in language.

I am also learning dancing starting nearly a year ago. Since it has very low priority on my weekly schedule and I seldom practice it after class, my teacher says I am doing mechanics. He is actually being nice and not wanting to scare me away, for I clearly know that I am not yet doing the correct and accurate mechanics (I feel my English pronunciation is somewhat close to such a mechanically correct stage -- though far from artful).