周末一笑:Competition(ZT)

来源: 南山松 2016-10-08 12:06:30 [] [博客] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (6504 bytes)

1 竞赛/Competition

Bill: Where did you get that gold watch Jon?

Jon: I won it in a race.

Bill: How many people participated in it?

Jon: Three, a policeman, the owner of the watch, and me!

比尔:你从哪儿弄来的金表,乔?

乔:我赛跑赢的。

比尔:有多少人参加?

乔:三个人,一个警察,手表的主人和我!

2 狗的坏习惯/A dog’s bad habit

As a professional animal trainer, I was disturbed when my own dog developed a bad habit. Every time I hung my wash out on the clothesline, she would yank it down. Drastic action was called for.

I put a white kitchen towel on the line and waited. Each time she pulled it off, I scolded her. After two weeks the towel was untouched. Then I hung out a large wash and left to do some errands. When I came home, my clean clothes were scattered all over the yard. On the line was the white kitchen towel.

作为一名专业的驯兽师,我对自己的狗养成的一个坏习惯感到很苦恼。每当我把洗好的衣服搭在晾衣绳上时,它总会猛地把衣物全扯下来。对此,我必须要采取严厉的措施。

我在绳上搭了一条白色的厨房毛巾,每当它把毛巾扯下来时,我就会训斥它一顿。两个星期后,它再也不碰毛巾了。于是,我把许多洗干净的衣服搭在晾衣绳上后,就出去办事了。等我回到家时,洗好的衣服分散在院子的各个角落,只有那条白毛巾依然搭在绳子上。

3 快速逃命/A hasty retreat

After a week's absence, a mountain man staggered home, clothes torn, shoes worn thin. He was exhausted.

"Where have you been?" asked his wife.

"I went out in the woods." Replied the mountain man, "and a giant bear stepped out in front of me. I took off running ahead of him and finally lost him. I never ran so fast in my life."

"But that was a week ago." Said the wife. "Where have you been since?"

The mountain man collapsed in a chair. "Walking back."

离开家一个星期后,那个登山人摇摇晃晃地回到了家,他的衣服也破了,鞋底也磨薄了,他本人更是疲惫不堪的样子。

“你到哪儿去了?”老婆问。

“那天我到森林里去,”登山人叙述着,“忽然一只大熊出现在我的面前,我拔腿就跑,熊就在后面追,好不容易才把它甩掉,我这辈子从来没有跑这么快。”

“可是那是一周前的事了,”他老婆说:“后来你到哪儿去了?”

登山人瘫在在椅子上说:“往回走啊!”

4 大吃一惊/A surprise

We had just moved into a new school district, when brother was invited to a surprise birthday party. He didn't want to go, however, because he couldn't recall ever meeting the birthday boy.