做成一个portofolio,有4.5%的年息,直到终生还不触及原始资本

来源: jim366 2012-03-28 10:43:39 [] [博客] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (16887 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ jim366 ] 在 2012-03-28 13:42:12 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.
回答: 一个1米退休的加拿大人的例子(ZT)jim3662012-03-28 10:41:11

Case Study: 60 Years Old, Lots of Cash, No Portfolio – The Portfolio

Yesterday, I went over the income projection of Dave’s $1 million portfolio that “should” last him for the rest of his life.  Today, I want to go over a few portfolio options to generate that income.

The Portfolio

As I am no where close to being a retirement expert, my investment knowledge for the years during retirement is limited.  However, here is my opinion on the matter.

If it was me with $1 million in cash, with a very low withdrawal rate, I would have a lower equity allocation than the suggested 50/50 split for greater capital protection.  Perhaps it’s my fairly conservative nature, but capital preservation is a high priority when the portfolio is your sole source of income.

But say I did go for the suggested 50/50 equity/bond split, what would I invest in?

The Equities

As the purpose of the portfolio is a combination of capital protection and income generation, I would invest the equity portion in high quality dividend paying blue chip equities, high quality preferred shares and perhaps some exposure to international indices/dividends for diversification.

As it seems that Dave doesn’t have a lot of investing experience, it may be best to stick to ETF’s as it reduces the complexity of choosing individual stocks.  Here are some examples of quality income producing ETF’s:

• Claymore Canadian Dividend and Income Achievers ETF (CDZ) – This ETF follows the Canadian dividend achievers list which includes stocks which have a strong track record of increasing their dividends over the years.  The downside of this ETF is that the MER if fairly high (0.60%) but can be avoided if mimic their holdings via individual stock purchases.