本期[自言自语]中英文对照:

来源: chicago80 2013-04-12 11:56:54 [] [博客] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 0 次 (3366 bytes)
回答: 【摄坛人物】之十二 evojim华翰斋2013-04-11 08:47:43

吴聚说得好,把Jim的英文原稿也放上来:
My earliest recollection on photography was my father chasing me around in 逍遥津, 中山陵, and 外滩, with his eyes fixed downward at a huge ridiculous looking box called “Seagull”. When I arrived at JFK in 85, father greeted me behind a smaller box called “Canon”. Subsequent years, dad seemly always had that Canon around his neck on family outings during his seldom study breaks at Cornell. I promised myself never go near such a device, since I gonna be a NHL player or a F1 driver.  

That promise didn’t waver while I majored in digital signal processing in college, not even a bit during countless hours that I spent on creating image algorithms to process Lenna(a Swedish Playboy model picture, that is the standard test image for image processing algorithms). A trip to New Zealand in 2002 began the end of the promise. Milford Sound and Franz Josef Glacier took my breath away. The interaction with locals and travelers fascinated me. Yet, I still wanted to be a race car driver. Finally in 2008, I caved in by purchasing a D80 for the China trip. From then on, I tugged race driver dream in the backseat, with foot to the metal to chase the thrill of decisive moments and the excitement of capturing serendipities.  

With U2 “Still haven’t found I’m Looking For” humming in the background, my eyes gaze at Ansel Adams ‘SAND DUNES, SUNRISE, DEATH VALLEY NATIONAL MONUMENT, CALIFORNIA’ on the wall; my vision wonder into the world to capture time slices that tickle my visual and emotional fancies, in companies of Ewritt; McCurry; Franks and Smith, with that huge ridiculous looking box “Seagull”…

Jim has such a beautiful writing, I probably only translate some of his saying...

译文: