recommend a small growing financial stock FMD

来源: longterminvestor 2007-06-03 18:50:30 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (5677 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ longterminvestor ] 在 2007-06-04 12:48:08 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.
First financial stock is very hard to track its real value, you have to trust management of financial company a little bit, meaning they are conservative on their book keeping, like conservative about their provision for bad loans, estimation of future income and so on.

second financail stock has complicated structure, usually has leverage built in, its value is rather sensitive to interesting environment.

third, even if management is conservative, they can still make wrong judgement calls on their financial activities, like recent subplime industry crisis, some management may not be able to resist huge profit showing up on their competitors' books and follow the same kind of practice.

fourth, it is easier for financial business to cover up fraud activities.

I am not an expert on financial industry at all, i am not a cpa, and I do not bother to read annual report of financial stocks since I think I would not understand them, or even if I understand, the next people in line would be able to understand too and I would not have any advantages.

So then why I am recommending this financial stock FMD? first I rely on a financial expert's opinion, he is a hedge fund manager: Thomas K. Brown. His specility is in banking, financial industry, he has a website called www.bankstocks.com. His fund owns 3,267,849 shares of FMD at 3/31/07. he published his opinion on FMD on his website. Here is a recent one:

http://www.bankstocks.com/article.asp?type=&id=9881368