A day in the life of a quant trader

来源: BeLe 2022-08-20 20:50:42 [] [博客] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (20613 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ BeLe ] 在 2022-08-20 20:56:10 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.

Note:  

Prop shops里QT是赚钱主力, QR辅助,他们每天要盯住股市,所以比较忙.

Quant hedge funds 里QR是公司赚钱主力,基本没有QT.  QR不用盯住股市, 工作日子就像Google Research, 早上十点来公司,不到七点就回家了,每星期只需来公司两三天,其它时间在家里工作.

Citadel Securities: A day in the life of a trader in NYC

Patrick Chi is a trader at Citadel Securities. He joined the firm in August 2020 after graduating from Columbia University with a degree in applied mathematics.  

6.45am. I wake up and check my messages on Slack and look at Bloomberg just to see how markets did overnight.  

I’m a trader on the American Depositary Receipt (ADR) desk. We make markets in more than 3,000 ADRs, which means we provide our clients with liquidity in the form of a bid and offer on all of those names. ADRs are US listings of international securities. They give US investors an opportunity to invest in foreign companies. We think of the ADR as a derivative of the local market security, which trades when the US market is closed. Therefore, when I wake up, I look to see how our largest take-home risks performed in local markets overnight. This generally takes about 10 minutes or so.  

If all is well, I might then snatch another 20 minutes of sleep or go for a run. Either way, I get to the office around 8am. If I haven’t been for a run, I’ll walk to work; the office is about 30 minutes from my apartment.  

8am. When I arrive at the office, I conduct a more detailed appraisal of how the overnight trades went. We build up overnight reports and look at the prices we expected the ADRs to trade at and the prices they actually traded at (this is known as the slippage) and evaluate our performance.