Co-founder of Qualcomm went to Cornell's School of Hotel

来源: Mike121212 2020-09-07 21:33:01 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (6180 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ Mike121212 ] 在 2020-09-07 22:42:34 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.
回答: Cornell的酒店管理专业在美国第一锦衣卫2020-09-07 19:47:36

Yes, Cornell's School of Hotel Administration is one of the best in the field.

Co-founder and former CEO of Qualcomm, Dr. Irwin Jacobs,  went to Cornell's School of Hotel Administration because his parents were in the restaurant buniess. But he transferred to its School of Engineering during his sophomore year.
The rest is history and today Qualcomm is a $130B company.

The following is part of the Irwin Jacobs' oral history recording, an interesting read with regard to seeking advice from high school counselors or choosing a college major.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I graduated high school in 1950. It was just after World War II and the direction of the economy was not yet obvious. My senior counselor suggested a good agricultural school, but I was not interested. My folks were in the restaurant business, so he next suggested the Cornell University School of Hotel Administration. I applied and was accepted. After about a year and a half, though, I decided engineering was more interesting. That decision was partly driven by a roommate who was an engineer. He egged me on by saying, “You couldn’t possibly get those grades if you were in engineering.” I could only listen to that challenge for so long. During the winter break, I went to the Dean of Men and told him I wanted to transfer from hotel administration to engineering. He said, “You mean engineering to hotel,” and we went through that loop awhile. Then he asked which area of engineering and I mentioned either engineering physics or electrical engineering. He had a faculty friend in electrical engineering, and that’s where I ended up, although I took a great math sequence in engineering ph