2015年看的几本书

来源: 梅劲 2016-01-04 09:46:27 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (93063 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ 梅劲 ] 在 2016-01-04 10:51:52 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.

向阿扑同志学习,努力读书。在过去的一年里,水灌得少了些,书读得多了点,缺点是趋易避难,看的东西良莠不齐,收获不大。拣能拿得上台面的向大家汇报一下,也是鞭策自己。 

1. Meditations,by Marcus Aurelius

这是经典中经典,谁没听说过古罗马皇帝奥勒留斯的〈沉思录〉?以前断断续续地看过一些,这次看的是
Gregory Hays的新译本,更为平白易懂。奥勒留斯身为帝王,却是一位哲学家(也许是最接近柏拉图所倡导的philosopher king的一位),斯多葛学派的代表人物之一。古人的哲学实际是人生哲学,奥勒留对后来枯燥的学院派玄幻推理毫无兴趣,他写〈沉思录〉主要是在征战治国之余为了自省的辅助,可以看出皇帝对自己要求也高,整天三省吾身,诚惶诚恐,一日不提素就感到羞耻。和斯多葛学派其他代表人物Seneca, Epictetus相比,这本书更有名气更哲学更深刻一些,但是不如另两位的书实际。斯多葛学派讲究用钢铁的意志和忍耐接受现实,不去纠结自己不能左右的东西,对后世为人处事的人生哲学影响深远。我认为要了解这派人生哲学看Seneca, Epictetus入门更合适。 

2. Walden and Civil Disobedience

这本也无需介绍了,美国的学校都要教吧,很多人都去过瓦尔登湖看看这个有名的所在。梭罗结庐湖畔,给人以远离红尘的感觉,其实那小水塘离市区不过两迈,他也没住多久,中间还回家和亲人吃lunch啥的,但是他的思考却是深刻无比的,对后世影响很大。摘录一些名言:

instead of studying how to make it worth men’s while to buy my baskets, I studied rather how to avoid the necessity of selling them. The life which men praise and regard as successful is but one kind. Why should we exaggerate any one kind at the expense of the others? 
But lo! men have become the tools of their tools. 
I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. 
Our life is frittered away by detail. An honest man has hardly need to count more than his ten fingers, or in extreme cases he may add his ten toes, and lump the rest. Simplicity, simplicity, simplicity! I say, let your affairs be as two or three, and not a hundred or a thousand; instead of a million count half a dozen, and keep your accounts on your thumb nail.