it is better to go broke by not doing a job

来源: career 2017-01-30 00:14:11 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (8942 bytes)
本文内容已被 [ career ] 在 2017-01-30 00:16:30 编辑过。如有问题,请报告版主或论坛管理删除.

Everything is tough these days
d0n1wag - Sun, Jan 29, 2017 - 09:57 PM 

I'm a Mechanical Engineer and worked in Aerospace on military and commercial aircraft and space systems. 

I watched as health care and the pension plans of these companies were systematically dismantled from the late 80s to present and where one engineer does the work of what it used to take many engineers to do due to technology. 

I've watched the Pig Men at the top piling up their Pig Piles while those doing the work suffered never ending financial harm by paper cuts. It made me bitter towards the end of my career to see the selfishness and greed at the top where the most deceitful, immoral and lyingest bunch of scum became rich beyond your wildest dreams by awarding themselves all the productivity gains over the years, raiding pension funds and cutting benefits. 

Everything is tough these days
Carbatom - Mon, Jan 30, 2017 - 01:13 AM 
Yes I'm a prof. Mech.Eng as well and I've seen the exact same thing. Computerization has now made it possible for guys like me to design complex equipment by myself within weeks or days whereas not so long ago a room full of engineers and drafters working for months would have been required. That is certainly a testament to how powerful the software and the hardware has become, assuming you know how to use it. Even now as I type this rambling missive, this machine is working on a nonlinear analysis of a highway going cryogenic trailer bumper undergoing crash impact forces. Not so long ago I couldn't type this response, have 8 web tabs open, and listen to a podcast while running a complex nonlinear FEA all at the same time...and all on an 8 year old 6 core Intel I7, which is now an old chip.