下面是一个教授对这个视频的留言,表达对目前社会方向的担忧

来源: 奔腾1918 2016-09-15 22:35:35 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 0 次 (5030 bytes)

I used to teach chemistry courses at the university. From time to time a freshman student in my class would proceed to tell me that I was stupid and clearly did not understand chemistry because I did not support the concept of global warming according to what they thought I should. I have been routinely told by people, many without any college training or even science classes in high school, tell me that I am the "wrong kind of scientist" so I cannot possibly understand global warming nor can I have any kind of credible opinion on the subject while they do. I have even had people with no science background demand to see my resume (not realizing that scientists us a curriculum vitae instead) so they can evaluate whether or not I am a competent scientist based upon my publication list (Assuming they could understand the title of a paper talking about the generation of a room temperature stabilized sydnone free radical synthesized using ferrocenylmethyl triammonium iodide [My senior year independent study research project].)
>
I had a bicycle ministry where I would spend hundreds of hours every spring, summer and fall, taking in broken bicycles, repairing them, and then giving them to low income children in the inner city. On more than one occasion I was spat upon for things like telling people that one child gets one bicycle and not two, for not having the right color, and so forth. Being threatened with violence, being screamed at with obscenities, and so forth were even more common.
>
The list of absurdities goes on and on.
>