看一下这个。楼下SAT2400贴后面的一个跟帖。我就有一个问题

来源: greenoasis 2017-09-23 20:15:24 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (6945 bytes)

她睡觉吗?还是bullet points 之外那些成就水分比较多?

Let’s play a game.

Imagine you’re an admissions officer, and your job is to admit students. Your job is notnecessarily to admit the most outstanding students. Your job is to construct a freshman class whose members will be interesting, mature and enthusiastic in their contributions to the school.

Applicant A’s resume reads as follows:

• She has a 4.0 (unweighted) GPA.
  • She received a 2400 on the SAT on her first try, and 800s in all of her SAT Subject Tests.
  • She did 13 AP-level subjects, including some which were self-taught.
  • She’s done well in a range of academic competitions (e.g. maths competitions).
  • She plays the violin well and the piano competently.
  • She’s the concertmaster of the school orchestra and plays a non-trivial role in several school committees.
  • She played badminton for the school team.

Do you want to admit her?

Sure, she’s clearly capable and hard-working—in other words, she’s smart enough to keep up with the coursework, like 80% of the others—but that’s about all her resume tells you. There are loads of applicants, thousands, who are just like her. She might have done all this just to get admitted; in other words, she could potentially be success-driven and not all that interested in contributing to the school.