阳光、空气、水

爱是伟大的,爱是平凡的,爱是无价的,爱是永恒的。 Nothing has a meaning except the meaning given by us.
个人资料
最新文章
归档
正文

Plan to Succeed

(2006-03-30 09:08:19) 下一个

Good Afternoon, Fellow toastmasters and guests!

How many of us want to go to the Disney World in Florida? How many of us want to drive there without a map? How many of us here want to build our own dream house? How many of us here want to build it without a blueprint? We are all plunged into a journey called life. Do we have a plan for this great journey? Fellow toastmasters, today, I’d like to share with you three my personal stories. They all have shown me the power of having a plan to succeed.

One year after I graduated from college in Shanghai, I was selected to head a summer camp of 30 high school students. They were children of my colleagues. The last day of camp was also one of the boys’ birthday. After his birthday party was over, he came to me with an envelope. He said, “My father passed away with leukemia when I was 13. He left 5 sealed envelopes and asked me to choose a man as my mentor and read the letter on my birthday. Will you read this last one to me?” I took the letter out and it read: “Dear son, today is your 18th birthday. Please forgive your father for not being able to be with you. The previous four letters were a plan for you to follow. I don’t have any more plans for you. My son, you are big enough to plan for your own life…” I finished reading that letter in tears. I never met the father but the wisdom shown in his letters still guides me today. What did I learn from the boy’s father? Have a plan for life. Plan to excel. And plan to succeed.