大家想要的英文分享:Being Bilingual and Bicultural

来源: 2017-10-04 16:54:13 [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读:

本来我并没有打算写一篇英文版的,但是看到有父母说希望他们的孩子也能看到我的分享,可能对他们来说英文会更方便一点吧。这并不是一篇一对一的翻译,因为中文写作对我来说还是有很多限制的,但是这是我真实的完整的想法。希望有帮助!

原文在这里:http://bbs.wenxuecity.com/znjy/3718247.html 

There were many skeptical comments to my previous postings, primarily questioning my self-identification as an "ARC", an American-raised Chinese. I am not surprised. After all, we do live in age when internet fraud and trolling are rampant, and I can certainly understand parents taking more precautions when it comes to internet advice about how to rear children. However, what I did not expect was the reason behind such skepticism: that apparently my style of writing was too "Chinese", and therefore I could not have been raised in the States.

Being a law school student, I can't help but notice the leaps of logics made in this argument, and I beg to differ on two of its fundamental assumptions: 1) that one can arrive at an absolute identification of a person's country of upbringing based purely on his skill and style of writing as evidenced in a few short paragraphs; and 2) that a person cannot be simultaneously fluent in two or more languages in both vocabulary and way of expression.

There are many factors that influence the formation of a person's writing style and his level of aptitude, such as talent, practice, education, and life experiences (including country of upbringing). While a reasonable conjecture of a person's writing level may be made knowing one or more of these factors, the reverse, accurately deducing a single factor from a writing sample, cannot be done without taking into account all of the other variables. This deduction process is made even more difficult by the fact that good writers possess the ability to change their styles of writing as needed based on audience and circumstance. A few short sample paragraphs in a single forum is clearly not representative of a writer's range as a whole.