My itinerary of Alaksan trip (5/22-5/30)

来源: AQQ 2009-06-09 13:19:35 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (3501 bytes)
I am not good at writing in either Chinese or English, but thought sharing my itinerary may be helpful to others. Here it is.

5/22. Flight from home to ANC via SLC (about 12 hours). Stayed in Inlet Suites and Hotel (bid from priceline.com for $50 before tax) Dinner at New Sagaya market (right next to the hotel).

5/23. Drove from Anchorage to Seward via Seward highway.

Stopped at Girdwood to walk the trails and to see the hand tram. People with arm strength are allowed to use the hand tram.

Stayed in Van Gilder Hotel in Seward (used 2 for 1 coupon in the Great Alaskan coupon). Dinner at Ray's restaurant - high-end restaurant in town and breathtaking view.

5/24. Visited Sea Life Center and took one day cruise (used 2-1 coupon again) to see the National Fjords Park and wild lives. Weather was rough. Even with pills, many people got sea-sickness.

Dinner at a restaurant called Peking but run by a Korean couple. Same hotel. Van Gilder is a very old hotel. Rooms are small and rumor has it that it was haunted.

5/25. Drove from Seward to Whittier via the famous tunnel. Took ferry from Whittier to Valdez. This ferry thing turned out to be the most pricy activities for the whole trip. It cost about $300 for two adults and one SUV. But the ferry, I have to say, is very nice and the ferry ride is quite relaxing and scenic.

Stayed at Blessing House B&B. Just so so. For whatever reason, a lot of business in town seems to be either for sale or not open for business yet. Even the B&B we stayed is for sale. We wanted to have dinner at Mike’s Place, which got rave review on line, but it is not open. Not sure if it closed for good. Instead, we had dinner at Totem Inn (recommended by the hostess of B&B). Not very much interesting to our Chinese stomach.