My experience in parade (NYC)

来源: Giantfan 2008-02-06 08:53:39 [] [旧帖] [给我悄悄话] 本文已被阅读: 次 (4439 bytes)
My office building is located next to Battery Park so I have a decent view on Broadway. I got out the Subway station around 8:15am and found out that the cops started to block the roads. It was still early but there were a lot of people dressed in blue wandering on the street already. The majority were teenagers with exciting looks on their faces (good excuse to cut school huh?)

The front entry access of my building was temporarily suspended due to incoming parade. I had to get into the building through the rear door that I have never used before. Having a little bit of problem to find it but I had a cheerful mind. The weather condition was cloudy and overcast. Temperature was around 40s.

Nobody wanted to work that morning. Once the long arm of our office clock pointed at 9, my office people started to pick our favorite window spot (you know those big tall windows in ancient European style structures). We put cardboards on sills to make relatively safe observation posts. We tried to get as many papers as possible, wastes from shredders, recycled printer papers, newspapers. Someone even pulled out the bathroom tissue papers (unused ones of course). We had all “ammo” prepared and just waited for the show to begin.

The Giants buses (around 6 Mercedes buses) arrived in 10:45pm and the crowds began to scream. We were in prone position and stretched our necks out trying to see any one of the players. To our disappointment, nobody except one got off the buses. That person held the silver trophy high and ran into the Indian Museum across the street. Our eyeballs followed the trophy holder into the building then we spotted five cops standing on top of the museum. “Snipers”, an anxious co-worker yelled out. Why did they need snipers in a parade?